5 October 2017
Review

Lamborghini has heavily upgraded its Aventador supercar, with revised aerodynamics and a revamped V12 engine that now produces 730bhp and 509 lb ft of torque.

But do those revisions make the Aventador S a match for supercar rivals such as the McLaren 720S and the Ferrari 488 GTB?

Join the debate

Comments
4

5 October 2017

Nice music :-)

7 October 2017

This is a lovely car (except for the silly gearbox - manual please).

 

But it is painful to hear him say he doesn't want to drive another turbo car after driving this.  I just don't understand why these guys don't inherently get this?  It shouldn't be a revalation. 

 

Turbocharging is a cheap and easy way to extract power for an often indifferent engine.  But it adds nothing to the joy.

 

The 458 will be remembered in 20 years time far more fondly than the 488.  The NA 911s will be the ones people want.  

 

But Autocar has done painfully little to resist the tragic tide.

19 October 2017

The problem is that more and more people don't have ears...

According to me an exceptionnal car must have a NA engine.

20 October 2017

£300K and they still can't keep the water off the engine...

As I'm never likely to be in their target marketing group, I can take a detached view of flawed exotica, and let the "lucky" owners live with it.

Every time you stop at the Black Swan, the gathering petrolheads will want a look at "that" engine.. when you open the bonnet, it's soaking wet and dirty. 

Just as well most of the owners are likely to be in California. 

 

 

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Subaru XV
    First Drive
    11 December 2017
    Second-generation XV sits on a new platform and is safer and more refined than before, but it suffers from the same problems that plagued its predecessor
  • Mini Cooper S Works 210
    Car review
    8 December 2017
    Mini splits the difference between Cooper S and John Cooper Works, and what a revelation it is
  • Seat Ibiza
    First Drive
    8 December 2017
    Does the Seat Ibiza deserve class honours ahead of the Ford Fiesta? We spend six months with one to discover just that
  • Alpine A110
    First Drive
    7 December 2017
    The Alpine A110 is back. We witness the rebirth of the French sports car maker and drive the wonderful A110, one of the best driver's cars in years
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class Estate
    First Drive
    7 December 2017
    The Mercedes-Benz E-Class could be all the estate car you’ll ever want — or it could be overkill. Let’s see which...

Latest videos