From £19,1607
The new Sport version of the HR-V is Honda's fastest SUV. Does that make it the family model of choice for keen drivers?

Our Verdict

The original pioneer of the crossover range the Honda CR-V makes a comeback bid

Former crossover hatchback pioneer makes a comeback bid - but is success within the HR-V's grasp, and does it do enough dynamically to stand out?

26 March 2019

What is it?

The ramp-up of Honda's sporting trim continues. We’ve had the Civic Sport and, last year, the Jazz Sport as an unlikely entrant into the warm hatch sphere, and now it’s the turn of the HR-V

The Japanese firm is introducing the range-topping Sport variant not long after the HR-V was given a mid-life fettling - one that was almost entirely focused on gently moving it closer to the latest CR-V visually. But Honda is treating the Sport moniker more seriously than some car makers, having given the car a performance upgrade to suit.

The recipe is simple on paper: take the already fine-driving HR-V and squeeze the 179bhp 1.5-litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol motor from the Civic Sport under its bonnet. This has turned it into the fastest SUV Honda makes - although the relatively small and low-slung HR-V stretches that definition a bit.

Engineers didn’t just shoehorn a gutsier motor under the bonnet and send it on its way, however. The Sport introduces what Honda calls synaptic damping control - a fancy phrase for uprated dampers aimed at sharpening the car’s body movements without ruining the ride. There’s also retuned variable-ratio steering alongside the improvements to the noise insulation and the active noise reduction system found in the regular HR-V.

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Ford Focus ST-line X 2019 road test review - hero front
    16 July 2019
    Car review
    Focus retains its position as the best-in-class to drive – spec dependent –...
  • Mercedes-Benz A-Class 2018 road test review hero front
    16 July 2019
    Car review
    This new version is the most luxurious A-Class yet, but has Mercedes made it...
  • BMW 3 Series 320d 2019 Road Test review - hero front
    16 July 2019
    Car review
    In compelling 320d guise, Munich’s seventh-generation 3 Series successfully...

What's it like?

The B-segment crossover sector isn't one that driving enthusiasts flood to. That’s reflective in the products on offer, the majority of which are best described as dynamically insipid.

But the HR-V Sport is surprisingly likeable. The standard HR-V is among the better cars in its class to drive, so Honda had a decent base to improve on.

We know how willing and flexible the new engine is from its placement in the Civic, and the HR-V’s similar kerb weight means near-identical performance. While there’s a little lag to deal with, it pulls strongly from around 2000rpm and only starts to get slightly breathless and strained above 5500rpm. It’s not as torque-rich as some similar turbocharged units, meaning you’ll be switching ratios to keep it on the boil, but that’s no hardship, thanks to a nicely short-of-throw and mechanical gearshift.

The Sport also adds a bit more aural appeal in the form of an artificial sound generator. We know how contrived these systems can be (Peugeot 308 GTi, we’re looking at you), but Honda’s manages to enhance the engine’s naturally rorty note without becoming overbearing. The additional sound insulation means it’s no longer drowned out by road noise, too. 

The standard HR-V’s controlled, neutral handling characteristics are improved on by the chassis alterations, although not to the degree that this is in any way a hot hatch baiter. Nevertheless, there is some degree of fun to be had from the positive turn-in, steering that’s more natural-feeling and precise than the standard car's and decent grip levels. 

The so-called performance damping has introduced a taut, sometimes firm edge to the ride, but it’s sophisticated enough that bumps are merely noticed rather than felt to an unacceptable degree. That’s good, because cars like this will find themselves pottering around town more than they are likely to be attacking a challenging B-road with gusto. 

The familiar traits of the HR-V remain intact, with a nicely trimmed and user-friendly interior marred by decidedly sub-par infotainment (Honda representatives themselves admit it’s in need of an overhaul). It’s roomy, too, with a decent boot and Honda's trademark 'magic’ fold-up rear seatbases that are now sorely absent from the Civic

Should I buy one?

Here’s where the problems start to emerge, in case you were wondering why a review with plenty of praise doesn’t merit a higher star rating. 

In isolation, the HR-V Sport is a pleasant and vice-free alternative to high-spec crossover rivals. But its ambitious pricing (nearly £28,000 in manual form and well over £29,000 with the optional CVT automatic ‘box) can only result in us drawing parallels with models from different segments.

Not only is it nearly £5000 more expensive than a top-drawer Mazda CX-3, it’s also more expensive than the identically powered Civic Sport. And if it’s a sporty yet practical SUV you’re after, the substantially larger Seat Ateca is available for significantly less.

Worse still, some of the best hot hatches on the market, namely the Volkswagen Golf GTI and Hyundai i30 N, are within reach, and in some cases cheaper. For those not solely after outright performance and not blindly tied to the idea of a crossover, a well-specced Ford Focus is more accomplished in pretty much every area.

Clearly, the HR-V isn’t capable of matching these despite a decent kit list, whether you’re comparing in terms of driver appeal, performance or even interior quality. Fundamentally, it’s a small crossover with the same underpinnings as the Jazz, and it’s out of its depth at this end of the market. 

It’s hard to work out who the HR-V Sport is aimed at, then, because traditional HR-V buyers, as in the ones looking for a sensible, reliable and spacious crossover above all else, are also better served by a middling non-turbo petrol model for a far more reasonable outlay.

Honda HR-V 1.5 VTEC Sport 

Tested Lisbon, Portugal Price £27,840 On sale Now Engine 1498cc, 4cyls Power 179bhp at 5500rpm Torque 177lb ft at 1900-5000rpm Gearbox 6-spd manual Kerb weight 1340kg Top speed 133mph 0-62mph 7.8sec Fuel economy 42.4mpg CO2 151g/km Rivals Mazda CX-3, Peugeot 3008

Join the debate

Comments
11

26 March 2019

Sky high pricing - and is it made in the problematic Mexico factory?

Steam cars are due a revival.

26 March 2019

Next week : we test the JCB Digger GTi Sport plus

XXXX just went POP.

26 March 2019

A cracking car ruined by stupid pricing, how typically Honda, so many of their cars are over priced next to their competitors, though they do hold their values well, and while the interior quality commented on in this review isnt up with the percieved best, they do wear well, I had an insight which was slated for a cheap interior, mine looked like new when I bought it, at 9 yrs old with 70k miles.

26 March 2019

used to have a great range, then they just gave up, the screaming VTI engines, The original Civic VTEC, the CRX, the Accord Type-R, the Prelude, what happened.. 

26 March 2019

I have no idea why, but I utterly detest the HRV. It is stupidly expensive for a glorified Jazz. Worse, though, is that it looks both bland and ugly. Quite an achievement that!

Dear Autocar website designers,

I understand your need to bring revenue in with advertising. However, can you do it in a way that makes your site usable please?

Thanks

26 March 2019

We bought a brand new HRV in Nov 2015. It lasted 7 mths before having to be recovered to dealership (twice), then the electrics went. Car spent a total of 13weeks at dealership - problems could never be traced. Honda not interested in swapping car like-4-like or for me contributing to a new one. Anything above 50mph on an undulating road turned the car in to a rollercoaster with very poor steering. Despite being a diesel, it's the only car I've ever owned (including 0.9tce petrol) that I've had to change down a gear trying to maintain 70mph uphill on a motorway. The car will not retain it's previous settings therefore you need to go thru a checklist each time you turn on the ignition for it to operate the way you want it to. And whilst the stereo sound well enough for a std system, the infotainment system ergonomics is about as bad as I've seen on any car. And despite the software supposedly being based on an Android system  (albeit an ancient version), it wouldn't integrate very well with any Android phone, and when it did, the functionality was extremely limited.

There are a few good points about the HR-V  ( it's tardas-like, those magic seats can be useful) but overall and despite being a 3-time brand new Honda buyer, I'll never again enter another Honda showroom in my life - an awful company to deal with. The only way to get rid of our heap of rubbish which was definitely not fit for purpose was to either take the supplying dealer to court (expensive option with no guarantee of winning) or cut our losses and sell it. Yes I lost a fair few quid on the deal but I've never been so glad to see the back of a car in my life.

Honda famed for reliability? And then I read that UK HR-V's were built in a Mexican plant which itself had major issues. If you are considering this car, go look at Haymarket magazine's latest reliability survey  -  a very un-Honda-like result for the HR-V.

26 March 2019

admittedly not exactly same model, however the Civic utilizes the same technology, exact same engine as in that specific car tested - automatic instead of manual transmission, leather seats given it's executive spec. Never had this problem with car's systems, settings not holding. The chaccis is set lower than the HRV hence not much of a roll in corners. Very stable and comfortable long distance cruicer. 

26 March 2019

Just goes to show scotty5 how a lot might be down to the dealership more than the build quality? We have owned 5 new Honda's since 2005 and all have performed faultlessly with the eception of the Pilot having a duff battery after 2yrs. Had the dealership diagnosed and fixed your vehicle right the first time, looked after you, free loan car, comped some free servicing, you might still be a Honda ciustomer? There again we have not owned a HRV, only CRV's and Pilots so could be a HRV issue.

27 March 2019

That's pretty much the starting price of a XC40 only a bit quicker but smaller, also, way higher than a T-Roc 1.5 4 pot. As I've said before some companies have insane pricing

typos1 - Just can’t respect opinion

28 March 2019

This article is very detailed and meticulous, I have read many articles on this topic, but for this article, you leave me a deep impression and practical application to my life. Thank you for sharing.

fnaf

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Ford Focus ST-line X 2019 road test review - hero front
    16 July 2019
    Car review
    Focus retains its position as the best-in-class to drive – spec dependent –...
  • Mercedes-Benz A-Class 2018 road test review hero front
    16 July 2019
    Car review
    This new version is the most luxurious A-Class yet, but has Mercedes made it...
  • BMW 3 Series 320d 2019 Road Test review - hero front
    16 July 2019
    Car review
    In compelling 320d guise, Munich’s seventh-generation 3 Series successfully...